jump to navigation

Getting back to normal February 4, 2010

Posted by dskillz13 in Uncategorized.
trackback

So it’s been two weeks after surgery. I can honestly say that I feel a lot better than I thought I would. For the first 1.5 weeks, I had some very uncomfortable, irritating headaches behind my eyes (particularly my right)  that actually kept me up at night. They finally started to diminish a couple of days ago, so I feel great.

So some weird things.. the row of staples still currently in my head do not hurt! My hair has grown back and is actually starting to cover the staples. I can’t wait to get these darn things out so I can just soak my head and shave my hair again.  I’m not expecting any serious scars to remain after the docs remove the staples next Monday.

Another weird thing – whenever I clench my jaws, I can hear a clicking noise in my head! Even Ella can hear it if its quiet and she pays attention. I suspect it’s a combination of a screw/plate assembly I have sitting in my skull right now. Thankfully though, its painless!

My meds are diminishing – Tylenol for whatever little pain I have, steroids to keep my brain swelling down, and anti-seizure meds that will last for a couple of months.

I’ve been getting a lot of rest, listening to a lot of music, and eating a lot of food that my family and friends are gracious enough to  drop off to make my life a bit easier. I’m not experiencing any post-surgical symptoms except very minor headaches, the occasional itchy staple, and just fatigue in the afternoon. But over the last couple of days, I’m even starting to feel my strength come back. I’m really happy and grateful to start feeling normal again.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

