jump to navigation

Day -3 January 17, 2010

Posted by dskillz13 in Uncategorized.
trackback

So I just posted my tumor status to my Facebook. I planned on doing this all along, since April, but I wanted to wait until surgery was closer and I had some time to actually sit down and write this. Just within 6 hours we’ve gotten an outpouring of love, prayers and support from a variety of friends and family. I just want to humbly thank all of you for thinking about me and keeping me in your prayers. I love all of you.

I finally updated my MRI Images pages. Every time I look at my MRIs I can’t help but think to myself that I should be dead. An object this big  invading my brain, making space for itself between both halves of it should not allow me to live. I shouldn’t be able to write this blog. I should be slumped over drooling at best and definitely not in the middle of a PhD right now.  I’m not much of a religious person, but I’m definitely a believer in God, in higher purpose and the fact that God is the supreme engineer of everything. The fact that I’m alive and well right now tells me that somehow God’s made my brain resilient to this tumor, and that there’s definitely a reason why I’m here.

The other thing is that within the last few months, a new co-worker of mine, also a survivor of a more serious brain surgery has become a good friend. He’s coached me and has given me confidence to move forward with this thing. He is thoughtful enough to poke his head in my office every now and then, just to check up on how I’m doing psychologically. He’s been a huge help – answering my many questions and helping me cope with the fact that I’m going through this traumatic surgery. The fact that he’s in my life right now is no accident. If one is a scientist and accepts the laws of probability, then at some point, this kind coincidence fails to make sense mathematically and there has to be a simpler, more spiritual reason why this coincidence happened. I accept both – the laws of mathematics and the spiritual stuff that as a human race, we’re still struggling to figure out.

Comments»

1. Gaye - January 17, 2010

We love you and will be (and have been) praying for you!

2. Dana Dea - January 17, 2010

We love you dearly and will be praying for you. God gave you to us as a blessing and you will continue to be a blessing to those around you as you recover. Alex loves you and considers you a brother of his heart. You or your beautiful family needs anything just ask and we are there. We love you and are praying for you everyday.

3. kat blue - January 18, 2010

Damon,

You know from our own personal story that “everything” is DIVINE…and that people that you woulda passed in another time are put in your path for a reason, most definitely. Trust us, we know and it’s actually worked out for the better. You were the topic of our breakfast conversation with Brianna this morning (coffee and prayer session-we wanted her to know)-Were your ears burning????

So just know that you are loved by many and we will be here for anything during your recovery. We love you, Ella and the girls like family…..

xoxo
Kat & Ken Blue

dskillz13 - January 19, 2010

thank you so much Kat. If my ears were burning I didn’t notice because I was running around after my hyperactive girls! Thanks so much for thinking/praying for us. I love you back!


Leave a Reply

