jump to navigation

Choosing a doctor January 13, 2010

Posted by dskillz13 in Uncategorized.
trackback

Choosing a doctor to perform the surgery wasn’t as difficult as I thought it was going to be. A good friend of mine who’s an anesthesiologist told me that neurosurgeons go though such rigorous training and selection processes, that statistically I’d be hard pressed to find a bad one. But I still did my homework and narrowed my choices to Dr. Arabi at Baltimore Shock Trauma, the head of neurosurgery there, or Dr. Alfredo Quinones Hinojosa from Johns Hopkins Bayview. I chose Dr. Q, after a friend recommended him and because Dr. Arabi gave me the impression that he didn’t care much whether or not he did the surgery on me. I’d probably get delegated to one of his team members. On the other hand, Dr. Q struck me as caring and passionate about taking out brain tumors. Instantly I knew that he is the one I’d trust opening up my head and working near my brain. He made a couple of important points –

1. That he would be the first human to touch such a critical area that was never meant to be opened

2. He put himself in my shoes and said that not only should I trust him, but so should the family if I were to make a decision. He said he would like to take out the tumor, but was very humble saying that it’s truly up to me and that he should earn his trust first before making a decision. That really resonated with me.

I also met his team, they entertained my list of questions (after I had researched the Handbook of Neurosurgery and did my homework) patiently and respectfully. Everyone was courteous professional and confident in their ability to take out this tumor. They made the decision for me. Here is a story about Dr. Q. It pretty much sums him up. He’s a remarkable human being.

Video: The Amazing Dr. Q

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

